This Week in GLS: A Poem

This past week I must confess
the art we saw in GLS
was tough for me to analyze
(of graphic novels I’m not wise,
And piano from the ‘Peanuts’ show
is more the kind and style I know.)
But I lent a sympathetic ear;
I tried to swallow my own fear
and pretend I wasn’t feeling meek
at the notion of critique.
I’m glad I did! From MNY
I learned a lot of Haida Gwaii,
and how a painting can be turned
for new perspective to be earned;
that playfulness is above all
in works he makes, both large and small.
And then we heard from Andrew Czink
whose piano concert made me think
that maybe piano is percussion?
(I guess that warrants more discussion.)
That playing’s a demanding task
(and physically a lot to ask).
His tests with form are like Monet’s
When painting on a cloudy day.
(At first the critics loathed his views
Cause he was trying something new.)
Andrew experiments with song
and different’s not the same as wrong.
Then Wednesday brought our talk on art;
where it belongs when things fall apart.
And Susan, Max, and Larry said
Rejoice! The world of art’s not dead.
That art is what our culture needs
if society is to succeed
and answers aren’t what art provides
but questions that can be our guide.
Art’s ‘lightning flash’ illuminates
but does not fix, does not dictate.
So let’s jump in! Our role is clear;
as critics we should have no fear.
Let’s be open, let’s be brave
Like the artists, we want to save
the plays, the music, paintings, dance,
they’re much too great to leave to chance.
Let’s make the role of critic heeded
and show the world that art’s still needed.

6 thoughts on “This Week in GLS: A Poem

  1. Thank you Cathy for the poetic prose
    an interesting thought, you did pose.
    Like you, manga and music aren’t my hobbies
    but saving art is something we should lobby.
    As a university recruiter, I always advise,
    a broad spectrum of thought makes you more wise.
    Courses in humanities, sciences, and the arts,
    are wonderful ways for conversations to start.

    But it saddens me that art enrolment is declining
    “There’s no money in it,” parents are whining.
    But as Max said, “art is the core of our culture.”
    And as humans, we are like hungry vultures
    thirsty for knowledge, answers, and the like,
    wanting to save the world should disaster strike.
    And this is why the arts must be saved,
    as it is a vehicle to explore, rant, or rave.

    Through creative thought, dialogue, or reaction,
    Everyone has an outlet for personal satisfaction.
    Unfortunately, mine is not writing in rhyme;
    It doesn’t come naturally and takes lot of time.
    So if you would like to discuss this topic more,
    I suggest that we meet after class or before
    as I can no longer respond in rhyming verse –
    finding the right words is making me curse!

    Thank you again for your thoughts and insight.
    Your poem made my day a lot more bright 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jealous I am of the creatives amongst us
    Cathy and Susan, your ryhming does charm and confound thus
    yet these words do rally courage and inspiration
    in our quest to become critics of the best comprehension-
    the talents we have seen on full display
    are enough to make one despair of how to convey
    fair comment on the story told
    always the risk of sounding pedantic and cold.

    While this is fun, I must turn away
    Sasha’s deadlines bring fear; no possibility of delay.
    let’s meet after class when submissions completed
    and we’re sure to arrive at criticisms unimpeded.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am impressed by the talent and jest
    Of Cathy’s words and all they suggest
    To be an arts critic I did not aspire
    But Sasha has an ability to inspire
    I’m not alone, as the poems prove
    Our GLS class is in the groove
    So here we are, with a focus on art
    Offering suggestions to impart
    A new perspective to artists we see
    With respect and appreciation, we all agree

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment